History of MHC

Mansfield Hockey Club was founded as a mixed team in 1950 as St. Marks Hockey Club, after the church in which a number of the founding members belonged to. There were 12 original members of the club, including John Ford, David Wallace, Colin Seymour, and Peter Jelley, the latter of which was even organist and the choirmaster for the church. They left St. Marks to form the Mansfield Hockey Club we know and love today.

Over the years we have played our home matches in numerous locations across both the Mansfield and Ashfield Districts, including Mansfield Racecourse, “The Quarry,” Sutton Lawn, Goosedale, and Hucknall National School. Nowadays our home ground is at Kingsway Park in Kirkby in Ashfield.

The club has grown steadily from the roots of the 12 player mixed side in its humble beginnings to its peak in 1989, where over 100 members represented the club across 5 mens teams, 2 womens teams, a junior setup and numerous weekday teams in nationally organised competitions.

Nowadays we are a club with 5 mens teams all playing in the Midlands Hockey League, and we have affiliations to both Ashfield Aztecs Ladies Hockey Club, and Mansfield Aztecs Junior Hockey Club. It is thanks to hardworking committee members from all 3 clubs that we boast player numbers close to our peak and we hope we will continue to see each club grow further.